#MySelfEsteemAndI The Bearded Lady: Harnaam Kaur

www.lagosbeautyblog.wordpress.com

The first time I saw her, I assumed she was a guy wearing makeup-forgive me. I was scrolling through my explore page on Instagram and saw what seemed like a guy wearing makeup, but there was something about his face that called to me usually I refresh the page but something urged me to open that picture. I did, and what a glorious day it was! It was a girl! And she was embracing everything about her.

Harnaam Kaur started growing a beard at the age of 11, this led to her constantly removing her facial hair and sometimes bleaching it. She battled being bullied at school, she had to endure stares from people when she was walking the streets, she endured the terrible names she was being called and even death threats.

All of these affected her self-worth to the point that she started to self-harm and eventually considered suicide. Self-harming was her way of punishing her body for being the way it was.

She put a halt to all of that when she had enough of people bullying her and self-harming.

‘As I sat there, I started to counsel myself. I told myself: ‘The energy you are putting into ending your life, put all that energy into turning your life around and doing something better.’

www.lagosbeautyblogger.wordpress.com

She decided to be baptised as a Sikh, a religious commitment that forbids cutting hair. This decision to be baptised came from the belief that everyone needs to keep their bodies intact, just the way it was given by God. Though the baptism was done for religious reasons but as the years have gone by she has grown to keep it for personal reasons.

‘It makes me feel like a brave, confident woman who isn’t afraid to break society’s norms.’

Harnaam is now a body-confidence and anti-bullying activist. She has learnt to embrace her unique look and she is constantly encouraging others to do the same.

“Once you have learnt to love yourself for who you are, whatever anyone has to say about you will not bother you because you are content.”

I think you are amazing. I love that you love your body and I love that you are against bullying, I love that you are encouraging people to love their bodies.

I do hope I meet you. I will give you the biggest hug and love you as Jesus wants me to.

Read about Polycystic Ovary Syndrome here

Please read more about her

This Bearded Model made History by killing the catwalk

Woman with facial hair poses in wedding dress

Flower Bearded Bridals with Kaur Harnaam

Follow her on Instagram

Please feel free to submit articles on how you overcame your low self-esteem and if you haven’t overcome it, I am here to help.

Email me thelagosbeautyblogger@gmail.com

Twitter LagosBeautyBlog

 

 

Leave a Reply

