#MySelfEsteemandI HELP! I am OBSESSED with Weight Loss

I need to lose weight. I walk up every morning and the first thing I do is to check the scale. I probably should throw the scale away, but it makes me sane in a way. I need to lose ten kg; I do not think I will ever be satisfied till I lose ten kg.

Many people want to lose weight for different reasons but, I want to lose weight because I want to look and feel good. People who are slimmer (especially my sister) receive compliments from family and friends and I believe this improves her self-esteem, I on the other hand am bigger than my sister, so I get advise on how to lose weight.

Overweight people have (and I know will) always be criticized for being fat. For most of them the criticism has had a negative impact on their self-esteem and sometimes it may even cause depression. While a select few see the criticism has nothing. We hear hurtful words like “you swallowed your husband”, “amoeba”, “you are ugly”, and “we don’t have your size”. This hurts.

I eat a lot, I eat when I am bored, and I eat when I am stuffed. I had to learn to exercise, even with that, I don’t do the tasking ones, I just power walk. I do not have the will power to jump up and down.

I have recently come to a conclusion. I do not need to work on perfecting myself. I have found that it can be self-defeating, and a big waste of time. Perfection is a myth. It doesn’t exist in the real world and it certainly doesn’t exist in human appearance. I have decided to reject society’s impossible standards of female beauty and praise myself for who I am and where I am.

You can do the same with these steps;

  • It is not your genes

I always blamed my genes for my excess fat. We have fat people in my family, so it was so easy. The fact that some people in my family are ‘big boned’ doesn’t give me an excuse to be obese. Though genes play a part in your body shape and your susceptibility to gain weight, it is still you who makes the decisions on what to eat and how much you work out. Don’t let the people around you stop you from being healthy.

  • Work on your self esteem

The respect we have for ourselves is closely tied to how we treat ourselves, how we treat our bodies, and how we allow others to treat us in relationships. Read my blog on how I raised my self-esteem.

  • Start an affirmation journal

Each morning, take 5 minutes to fill up a page of a medium-sized journal with 2 positive affirmations about yourself. Be guided by the person you want to be. If you feel heavy and unattractive, write in your journal, “I am fit and lovely.”

  • Eat food

There were times I would starve myself because I wanted to lose weight, not anymore. Feed yourself good food. Nourish your body with the foods nature intended for us to eat. Eat healthy foods.

  • Exercise

Exercise is meant to be fun. Don’t feel down if you aren’t excessively skinny; love every single curve you are born with.

  • Banish negative thoughts

You’re okay just as you are. You are a unique person, capable and loveable, with special talents and strengths, with inner wisdom and creativity, a human being of value. Honor your character, talents and achievements.

  • Your size is okay

Your body is okay. Your size is okay. Except it poses health challenges for you, then you can try to change. Exercise is meant to keep you healthy not obsessively thin. You can change the way you see your body by speaking positive things to yourself. Your weight is not a measure of your self-worth. Accepting this can give you freedom.

  • Don’t linger in the past

Move on. You may have been skinny in the past, now you aren’t. Embrace the new you.

If people made fun of you because you were fat, shake it off. It is not particularly easy, but holding on to the thoughts actually kill you the more.

Never let any past experience pull you down but instead see it as a motivation to be better at anything.

  • Praise your progress

If you notice that you lost a pound, give yourself a pat in the back and say “I DID GREAT!” Losing weight is definitely not as easy as it may sound so every progress (big or small) that you achieved should be recognized.

 

Leave a Reply

