#MySelfEsteemandI What I learnt From Niecy Nash

I have read and heard Niecy Nash say a couple times that she doesn’t want to lose any weight. She has gone on the record saying, “I like my jiggly parts. … I like my body like it is.”

I wish I could confidently say that I like my jiggly parts. But, I don’t. I wish I didn’t have jiggly parts, I wish I was a size 8 or a 6 and without folds. But, that can never be. I want to be in a place where I can confidently say that I like my body as it is. I have decided not to condemn my body, but I realize that it is easier said than done. It’s a struggle everyday especially as I seem to add weight easily!

Coming through….. ♠️(tap for details)

A post shared by niecynash1 (@niecynash1) on

I often wondered how she could be so confident, so beautiful and so funny. She oozes self-confidence, I don’t know if you know when someone oozes a healthy self-esteem but she does. She is everything I want to be.

|•Sitting•| In my @chenburkettny skirt @ABFF 20yr anniversary party ❤️

A post shared by niecynash1 (@niecynash1) on

Like most of us, Niecy doesn’t look like someone that would have experienced low self-esteem. But she did, and I believe her journey is one we can all learn from.

In an article on Essence, she wrote “Although my marriage left me with three beautiful children, it also left me with a healthy dose of self-doubt, low self-esteem, and an extreme desire to be loved again. I was operating on empty, expecting to be paid in full. In short I was a hot, buttery mess! The upside? I was still cute and could pull a man! I filled my mind with all sorts of ridiculous mantras like “The best way to get over a man is to get under a new one”. I ended up under a whole heap of foolishness that in retrospect was not worth my time. Of course I thought the men I entertained were all full of it.

Good morning from the white carpet @HollywoodReporter #Power100 Women in Entertainment Breakfast ❤️

A post shared by niecynash1 (@niecynash1) on

Being tired and fed up I decided to cleanse my body, my mind and my soul. When I was being honest with myself I had to own that there was something about me that was drawing energy in my life that left me feeling underserved and unfulfilled. I decided to GROW. I decided to purge myself of anyone and anything that was not full of goodness, serving me or making me happy. I let go of “stinkin thinkin” and only marinated on things that were “true, just, lovely and of a good report” (Phil 4:8 And now, dear brothers and sisters, one final thing. Fix your thoughts on what is true, and honorable, and right, and pure, and lovely, and admirable. Think about things that are excellent and worthy of praise). I only listened to positive music, watched positive programming, ate healthy, worked out, journaled and attended church regularly. I also took some time to date the only perfect man there is…the one that died on a cross 2000 years ago! I wasn’t just about praying but also listening for direction. This process led me to the best love of my life- me! I can truly say the love I showed myself began to be duplicated by others around me. On the other side of this journey the more healthy and whole I became the better the guys that began to show up. Finally I met my current husband Jay. He is a mirror of the best parts of me. I am so happy and so incredibly in love. The interesting thing is that it wasn’t just my dating life that changed when I became the best version of myself, things changed for me in friendship and in business.”

#tbt Emmy's 2015 Sometimes you have to encourage yourself! ❤️

A post shared by niecynash1 (@niecynash1) on

“It’s more about the inner transformation for me. I want to become better and stronger and more fulfilled as a person, and I can do that with a little wobble in my booty, honey!”

•|HIPmotized|• 📷 @robertector 💕💕💕

A post shared by niecynash1 (@niecynash1) on

Leave a Reply

